News:

• March 28, 2024, 04:10:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Help with scale flying at the Nats  (Read 2943 times)

Offline Hemi Steve

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Help with scale flying at the Nats
« on: September 30, 2019, 07:41:52 PM »
All
Let me introduce myself.  I'm Steve and I live about 30 miles north of Detroit.  I started flying control line in the mid 50's and had a great time.  In 1959 I moved over to r/c and was i and out of the hobby as family and business needs varied.  I tended to prefer scale though I flew a lot of sport and a few pattern planes along the way. 90% of my models have been from kits, plans or original designs.  I've assembled a few arf's but get waaaay more enjoyment out of building.  over the past 5 years the LHS has sponsored a build competition whuch I have won every year...not braging but just saying I'm a good builder.  3 years ago I took up the handle again and am having as much or more fun as when I was a kid.  I'm a board member of the local r/c club and have found a bunch of old ukie flyers in the club.  I convinced the board to invest in a control line circle (grass).  With a bunch of volunteers we created a decent field from a plowed farm field. It's large enough to fly 70 ft lines.  Another board member and I have recruited some r/c fliers and are teaching them to fly control line (they have discovered it isn't as easy as it looks).

Anyway, I am on a mission to fly in the 2020 control line scale Nats.  I have a plane that I intend to use.  I have read and re-read the rules and am developing a list of questions for the experts here.  I don't want to get to Muncie only to find that my fronescon  doesn't comply with a rule.