News:

• May 04, 2024, 09:23:50 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: solvent-based auto paint vs. water-based?  (Read 2011 times)

Offline Scott Richlen

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
solvent-based auto paint vs. water-based?
« on: December 31, 2019, 12:36:43 PM »
There is a Sherwin-Williams Auto Paint store near my home and I stopped in the other day to see what they had in paint usable for my models.  I am repainting one of my older models with base-coat/clear-coat and have the white base laid down.  But I need to buy some trim colors.  When I asked the guy behind the counter if they had water-based, he said that they only carried solvent-based paint.

Now I am confused.  I am not an expert in this area, but I thought that water-based was about the only thing used on auto's these days and that solvent-based was no longer used on autos.

Any of you have the expertise to explain this?  What am I missing?

Offline Randy Powell

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
  • TreeTop Flyer
Re: solvent-based auto paint vs. water-based?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2020, 09:48:17 AM »
Auto paints these days are generally urethanes.  Single stage for colors and catalyzed for top coat. They are not solvent based per se. They use various carriers depending on the paint brand. There are also water based urethane colors. They need a catalyzed clear topcoat. Tried those a couple of years ago. I won't again.
Member in good standing of P.I.S.T
(Politically Incorrect Stunt Team)
AMA 67711
 Randy Powell

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2020, 12:45:31 PM »