News:

• April 18, 2024, 11:51:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Sig Lite Coat Clear Dope  (Read 1281 times)

Offline Jim Svitko

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Sig Lite Coat Clear Dope
« on: November 28, 2018, 09:33:49 AM »
I have heard claims that the Sig Lite Coat Clear is more fuel resistant than the Brodak clear.  Has anyone done any testing to see if that is true? 

My tests showed that the Brodak Crystal Clear has zero, if any fuel resistance.  Once fuel hit it, the gloss disappeared when the fuel was wiped off.  The "regular" Brodak clear was a little better.  The Randolph non-tautening clear was the best of the three but, of course, not entirely fuel proof.  Just more resistant than the other two.  In time, I noticed that the gloss was fading as well.  It just took a little longer.

I have not used the Sig Lite Coat clear so I have no personal experience with it.

Offline billbyles

• AMA Member
  • Captain
Re: Sig Lite Coat Clear Dope
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2018, 03:02:49 PM »
I have heard claims that the Sig Lite Coat Clear is more fuel resistant than the Brodak clear.  Has anyone done any testing to see if that is true? 

My tests showed that the Brodak Crystal Clear has zero, if any fuel resistance.  Once fuel hit it, the gloss disappeared when the fuel was wiped off.  The "regular" Brodak clear was a little better.  The Randolph non-tautening clear was the best of the three but, of course, not entirely fuel proof.  Just more resistant than the other two.  In time, I noticed that the gloss was fading as well.  It just took a little longer.

I have not used the Sig Lite Coat clear so I have no personal experience with it.

Hi Jim,