News:

• May 02, 2024, 02:43:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Comments on 'coats  (Read 891 times)

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Comments on 'coats
« on: September 03, 2012, 10:52:14 AM »
I went to cover a plane Saturday (Randy's Banshee), and found that the Monocoat that I had was stuck to its backing film.  @#$%.

I've been buying single rolls of Monocoat or Ultracoat at the LHS, all the while thinking that there has to be a less expensive way to cover planes.

I've got very little experience with 'coats other than Mono- and Ultra-coat -- back in the day I was mostly covering with tissue or silkspan, with a little bit of Coverite thrown in.  I'm still in "build & crash" mode, so I'm not ready to order up dope and start using the roll of Polyspan under my bench -- that'll come later.

I've heard some negative comments on Black Baron and Towercoat, and I've certainly had the dubious "pleasure" of trying to get some roll of mystery-coat to work right.  So is anyone using them and liking them?

How about Brodak's Kolor Koat, which is on 2-for-1 sale right now?

Sans any input, I'm either going to go and buy out a fellow modeler's stash of various film coverings and hope for the best, or buy a 25 foot roll of Monocoat from Tower ($55, which works out to $2.20/foot).

Thanks in advance.
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Offline Paul Wood

• 21 supporter
  • Commander
Re: Comments on 'coats
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2012, 11:57:46 AM »
Tim,