News:

• May 08, 2024, 04:08:32 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Rustoleum Problems  (Read 3574 times)

Offline petermick

• 2018 Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Rustoleum Problems
« on: July 07, 2016, 11:04:36 AM »
Hi Guys

For a number of years I have used Rustoleum Stops Rust Enamel with no problems.  On my latest project I painted parts of my plane with Rustoleum Painters Touch Gloss White 2X Ultra Cover Paint + Primer.  Since this plane is electric powered I didn't have to worry about clear being fuel proof or not.  I have never used the Crystal Clear Enamel before.  Because I want a really high gloss finish I decided to give it a try.  I decided to try a test and sprayed the underside of one of the elevators with Rustoleum Stops Rust Crystal Clear Enamel.  I put on a wet coat and within minutes the white coat started to "krinkle" in some areas.   

Two questions.  Should I not put on a wet coat and just given the part a light spray first?  These are both Rustoleum products but might there be a compatibility problem? 

Does anyone have any other ideas or suggestions?

Thanks

Peter Mick
AMA 9581

Offline petermick

• 2018 Supporter
  • Lieutenant
Re: Rustoleum Problems
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2016, 11:10:11 AM »
I forgot to mention, the white paint was applied 5 days before I put on the clear.

Peter Mick

Offline dennis lipsett

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2016, 02:15:12 PM »
Hopefully your white paint wasn't dope. wrinkling is always inevitable when dope is used unless it has had about a (year), subject to heated debate, to gas off.

Dennis

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2016, 06:38:24 PM »
Read your can again.  Sounds like you didn't wait long enough.  I know my cans say recoat color or clear within a day.  Other wise wait a week or two.
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203