News:

• April 24, 2024, 01:30:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Mono/Ultracote over sheeted foam wings?  (Read 2207 times)

Offline Mike Alimov

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Mono/Ultracote over sheeted foam wings?
« on: March 03, 2020, 02:42:04 PM »
I have some experience Monokot-ing built up wings and structures, but never had to do a sheeted foam wing.  Questions:
1) Is it possible at all?  My concern being that the heat intended to shrink the film would melt the foam under the balsa skins.
2) If possible, what is the procedure? Specifically, how do you provide for hot air escape?  Normally I seal all the way around the edges before shrinking; however in a built-up structure there are plenty of openings for hot gas escape. 

Online Brett Buck

• Admiral
Re: Mono/Ultracote over sheeted foam wings?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 07:57:32 PM »
I have some experience Monokot-ing built up wings and structures, but never had to do a sheeted foam wing.  Questions:
1) Is it possible at all?  My concern being that the heat intended to shrink the film would melt the foam under the balsa skins.

Yes.

2) If possible, what is the procedure? Specifically, how do you provide for hot air escape?  Normally I seal all the way around the edges before shrinking; however in a built-up structure there are plenty of openings for hot gas escape.

Attach at LE and TE, pulling on the diagonal to put on as much tension as you can to stretch it, as you work your way from root to tip. Do not seal the flat surfaces at the root or tip, aside from maybe a tiny tack at about half chord at the root, just to give you something to pull against. When tacked at the LE and TE, go make solid, hot, bond to the LE and TE all the way, nice and solid, and on the bottom, "bury" the edge until the color comes out. There should be no wrinkles, it should already look very good.