News:

• April 19, 2024, 07:47:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Light weight spackle as balsa filler  (Read 2110 times)

Offline Chuck Matheny

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Light weight spackle as balsa filler
« on: March 05, 2023, 02:20:05 PM »
It's been a couple years since I built a plane.
I've been using light weight spackle for many years with good results and it has always been easy to sand.
I just bought a small "tub" of DAP Fast & Final and after 24 hours of drying in a warm room it sands like cheese being grated.
I think I used to use a different brand..but the problem is a tub of this stuff lasts many years and I don't recall what brand "the good stuff" was.
There IS another light weight spackle called "One Time" and maybe this is the good stuff that I am trying to replace...?

Online Mike Morrow

• 24 supporter
  • Lieutenant
Re: Light weight spackle as balsa filler
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2023, 02:39:13 PM »
Someone on this forum recommended DAP Vinyl spackling It's worked very well for me. Feathers out nicely.

Mike

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

Offline Jim Svitko

• Captain
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2023, 02:47:17 PM »
I have used the Elmer's carpenter's wood filler.  It might be a bit heavy but it sands easily and I have not had any problems with dope attacking it.

Offline Chuck Matheny

• 23 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2023, 02:49:06 PM »
Someone on this forum recommended DAP Vinyl spackling It's worked very well for me. Feathers out nicely.

Mike

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

Mike..thanks for the feedback.
i'll check it out..I wonder if Lowes will just sell me TEN CENTS WORTH...?

Offline Chuck Matheny

• 23 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2023, 02:50:59 PM »
I have used the Elmer's carpenter's wood filler.  It might be a bit heavy but it sands easily and I have not had any problems with dope attacking it.
Thanks for the tip Jim.