News:

• March 28, 2024, 05:55:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Good spray gun paint video  (Read 2029 times)

Offline Joe Ed Pederson

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Good spray gun paint video
« on: November 05, 2019, 11:38:40 AM »
I wish I had watched this video before I started spray painting:    

I am a rank beginner at spray painting and my initial results demonstrate it.   I had concluded that my results were pitiful because of the cheap Harbor Freight spray guns I bought.   That still may be the problem, but I learned from the video that I had been setting up the guns improperly.  I learned enough from the video that I can practice with water based acrylic and see if the fault lies with the spray gun or with me.

This video is based on painting cars.  If anyone knows of good videos on the very basics of spray painting our models, would you please post the ling to those videos?

I found this video on the importance of using at least 3/8" air hose on any HVLP spray gun

and this one on the purple Harbor Freight spray gun: 

Joe Ed Pederson
Cuba, MO
« Last Edit: November 05, 2019, 02:32:55 PM by Joe Ed Pederson »

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
Re: Good spray gun paint video
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2019, 09:28:43 AM »
I just saw this Thread.

These guys have absolutely no idea you're painting model airplanes that have to be as light as possible. Seems that's the goal for competitive modeling enthusiasts?

HVLP vs LVLP

I'd dig in a bit and look closely at these differences, HVLP vs LVLP, before buying any equipment for spraying model airplanes. Much to learn and a few decisions to make based on the type of model you build and for what purpose you elect to use it for.

Trump Derangement Syndrome. TDS. 
Avaiojet Derangement Syndrome. ADS.
Amazing how ignorance can get in the way of the learning process.