News:

• March 28, 2024, 03:16:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Film With No Glue  (Read 2643 times)

Offline Motorman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Film With No Glue
« on: November 25, 2020, 09:27:26 PM »
blank
« Last Edit: August 19, 2021, 05:17:17 PM by Motorman »

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Film With No Glue
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2020, 10:42:14 PM »
  Read the instructions
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824
AMA 480405 (American Motorcyclist Association)

Offline Craig Beswick

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2020, 11:36:09 PM »
Motorman,
I have no personal experience but this is a copy of a similar question on RCGroup. It seems to cover what you are asking.

"Coverlite does not have adhesive on it. Technically, it is also not a film, it is polyester tissue which has been sealed. To apply you either apply the adhesive to the airframe or to the tissue. It is still a heat shrink material so once glued to the frame you can use an iron or heat gun to shrink it.

Make sure what you have. Coverlite is made by Coverite. Coverite also makes film coverings.

Balsaloc is a water based adhesive made for that purpose but is not fuel proof. Balsarite is a fuel proof adhesive made for this stuff.

Balsaloc looks and acts like plain Elmers white glue.

Charlie

PS Coverite (which is the same material as Solarfilm's Litespan) is my favorite covering material for smaller airplanes (less than 60" span)."
AUS 87123
"The Ninja"

Online kenneth cook

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2020, 07:51:30 AM »