News:

• March 28, 2024, 06:28:58 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Fast Finish  (Read 1567 times)

Offline Ken Culbertson

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Fast Finish
« on: January 16, 2019, 12:30:54 PM »
I need to finish a plane from bare balsa to flying by mid Feb.  Covering will be polyspan and power is electric.  I can wait till later for the clear coat and elbow grease.  I want to use lacquer and Rustoleum but I am concerned that I will not get a good bond through the polyspan.  If I use dope I won't have time for it to degas unless I use the same dope for the color. 

I have tested the lacquer on the carbon vale and it appears to bond just fine.  The dope I have is Randolph nontauting which I have been told is basically lacquer but if that is true, why does it bond better than lacquer?

I could also use z-poxy for part of the process but I have never used it before.

So, to sum it up, how do I get a usable finish in a week that won't prevent me from getting a real finish later and , yes I have considered just Monokoting it and refinishing it later.

Ken

AMA 15382
If it is not broke you are not trying hard enough.
USAF 1968-1974 TAC

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Fast Finish
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2019, 01:51:06 PM »
I wouldn't get close to it with the Rustoleum.  It needs two weeks to get fuel proof, either it won't paint onto lacquer or you can't paint lacquer on top of it (I can't remember which it is -- I think you can go enamel on top of lacquer, and then you're stuck).  I would only go with Rustoleum as a companion to 'coat, and only if I weren't trying for a 20-point finish.

I'd be really tempted to go with whatever I was going to use for a base coat (clear dope or clear dope mixed with my base color) & vinyl stick-on lettering for the one contest.  Or finish the whole thing out but for the rubbing & clear.  Then clean it up and finish it afterward.
AMA 64232