News:

• May 22, 2024, 02:25:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: I have a paint question?  (Read 1018 times)

Offline RC Storick

• Forum owner
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • The finish starts with the first piece of wood cut
    • Stunt Hangar
I have a paint question?
« on: March 04, 2014, 09:05:41 AM »
I am going to do gold leaf on this new plane. Sizing is mineral base and not compatible with dope. I was wondering if anyone has used white glue as sizing or should I just use dope?
AMA 12366

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: I have a paint question?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 10:30:20 AM »
    I have no experience with it, but I seem to remember a construction article Mike Schmidt di with Allen Brickhaus on a model and Mike used gold leaf on it. I think he had some sort of problem and may at least tell you what NOT to use. I'll see if I can track down the issue of Flying Models that it was in and get back to you.
  Type at you later,
   Dan McEntee
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824
AMA 480405 (American Motorcyclist Association)

Offline Mark Scarborough

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2014, 10:38:34 AM »
Robert,
there are acrylic size materials out there,, a google netted this, ( yes I know its in UK)
I am at work so I really cant devote a lot of time to searching for it,,

http://www.goldleafsupplies.co.uk/acatalog/Acrylic-Gilding-Size---1-Litre-7552.html

http://www.goldleafsupplies.co.uk/acatalog/Polyvine-Acrylic-Metal-Leaf-Size---1L-7565.html#SID=2740

http://www.goldleafsupplies.co.uk/acatalog/Wunda-Size-7550.html

so its available, might take some searching,, I know with auto base coats I have seen conventional sizing used,, but not on lacquer,, though it is done since hot rods of days gone by were all on lacquer.

For years the rat race had me going around in circles, Now I do it for fun!
EXILED IN PULLMAN WA
AMA 842137

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral