News:

• April 27, 2024, 09:53:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: "Masks" Applications, easy as pie!  (Read 621 times)

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
"Masks" Applications, easy as pie!
« on: December 28, 2011, 11:58:31 AM »
"Masks" Applications, easy as pie!

Certainly I know how easy it is to apply paint masks, I should, because I did airbrush for a living! Well, one of the things.

But for someone who may have never applied paint masks, there could be questions, even apprehensions.

So, here's an example of a three layered mask.

I call this Rondel, the "Star n Dot."

There's a few ways to paint this using masks, but one, or this way, is to apply and paint the blue field first, this would be the large circle.

Placement? Easy, because this material can be applied wet, and slid around until you have it in the correct spot.

Spray foam window cleaner can be used. And you don't need much, apply lightly.

OK, so you peeled the mask off the "backing paper," sprayed both the sticky side of the "mask" and the surface where it will be applied.

Yes, I know, for experienced individuals, the wet part may not be necessary.

When it's where you want it, you could draw lines or use masking tape as a guide, squeegee the mask down removing the liquid behind it.

Bubbles? sure, you may have a few or a bunch. Doesn't matter because only the "edge" has to be stuck in place. This would be where the paint line is.

Fine, you have the large circle in place, now you can remove the "transfer" paper. That would be the tissue like paper that covers the mask material. The transfer paper comes in handy for words or complicated graphics. Holds all the pieces together.

Now, paint the blue! Done with the blue!

Second mask is applied the same way. "Register?" Each mask is the same size, simply align the four corners for alignment. Nothing hard about that.