stunthanger.com

General control line discussion => Open Forum => Topic started by: Paul Taylor on April 22, 2011, 09:57:21 AM

Title: What's the score....???
Post by: Paul Taylor on April 22, 2011, 09:57:21 AM
So was rewinding and playing back my flights yesterday and on my second flight just as I came out of the clover and the plane got level the engine ran out of fuel and I did about 1/2 lap and found a dry patch to land on.

I got to thinking... if this was at a contest I did not do 2 laps between the clover and landing how is that scored?
Do I not get points for landing?

Also in the event that happens at a contest can you whip the plane around for two laps and then land?
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Brian Massey on April 22, 2011, 10:34:56 AM
"11.1. At least two (2) laps of level flight shall precede each maneuver, including landing."

Based on the above I would say that you get no credit for the landing in your senario. However, you pose a good question regarding whipping. I'm no expert on the rules, but I don't recall that ever mentioned (now watch someone insert "at least two (2) powered laps".   Just for laughs I once whipped for 3 laps, that was when I was young and  . . . well, younger and more able.

Brian
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Glenn (Gravitywell) Reach on April 22, 2011, 10:47:37 AM
As long as the laps are "level flight" your in the green.  It makes no mention, implied or otherwise, that they need be powered.
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Paul Taylor on April 22, 2011, 12:44:54 PM
Well I did see Joe Gilbert do lazy eights with no power. But then he could maybe do the clover, 2 laps and land without power. BW@
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Tim Wescott on April 22, 2011, 02:15:46 PM
I think if I'd just finished a nice pattern, and the only thing standing between me and getting my landing and pattern points were running backwards like a fool for several seconds, I'd whip the thing and be happy.
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Elwyn Aud on April 22, 2011, 03:40:59 PM
I assume when you said "the plane got level" you mean after you exited the clover correctly (over the top of the circle). I've seen several pilots whip planes for the last couple of laps with a lot of shouted encouragement from fellow pilots.
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Will Hinton on April 22, 2011, 04:04:21 PM
I've had a couple of occasions to whip for two laps to get my landing points - however, I DON'T RUN BACKWARDS.
Turn around and run forward in the circle with your handle held over your inboard shoulder.  That gives you more speed and greatly reduces the possibility of tripping.  works for me.
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Bob Whitely on April 22, 2011, 04:49:59 PM
Since no one has answered the question here is  the correct rule.  Yes, you get
landing points but lose pattern points.  The rule says at least 2 laps between
maneuvers but has no effect on maneuver points.  Period. RJ
Title: Re: What's the score....???
Post by: Marvin Denny on April 22, 2011, 05:33:15 PM
  Paragraph 13.15, page CLA9 under Landing, Note, Errors, note  CLEARLY states that it is permissible to Whip the plane to attain the necessary two laps before landing. 

  Bigiron