News:

• April 30, 2024, 05:24:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Adjustable Leadouts  (Read 3023 times)

Offline Allen Eshleman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Adjustable Leadouts
« on: July 27, 2018, 10:58:26 AM »
I have little experience with adjustable leadouts.

I have a Banshee/LA 40 which has them.  It looses tension as I go up or into maneuvers.  Pull alright flying level.

What could I do with the leadouts that might help?

What else could I do?

I have a Shark 402 that has the same problem. 

What recommendations do you have.  Also has adjustable leadouts.

Thanks ahead of time.

Offline Tony Drago

• Captain
Re: Adjustable Leadouts
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2018, 11:15:37 AM »
Try moving the lead outs back back a little at a time. Also do you have any wing tip weight.

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2018, 11:33:37 AM »
Hang the plane by the front lead out and see how nose down it is.  They may be too far back and causing the plane to yaw more and lose speed which will cause lines to go slack.   Also do you have a degree or two of nose out on the engine? D>K
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203
AMA 23530  Have fun as I have and I am still breaking a record.

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2018, 02:45:48 PM »
Read Walker on stunt!

Plenty of tension low and not much high means a warp, tip weight, or (usually) the leadouts are too far forward.  Lots of tip weight will mask other sins, so don't assume that if it's fixed with more tip weight it's really truly fixed.

I'd check for warps first.  Then see if I can make it better with leadout position.  Make sure you do tests both upright and inverted, to flush out any warps.
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Offline Ken Culbertson

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral