News:

• April 18, 2024, 07:23:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Trophy from the past.  (Read 1842 times)

Offline Dallas Hanna

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Trophy from the past.
« on: July 16, 2018, 11:00:20 PM »
Old USA trophy from 1950.  Does anyone know the trivia about this old trophy from Michigan State dated year 1950.  It is sitting on a shelf in an antique shop some 50 miles west of Sydney, Australia.  How did this trophy get this far from it's original home?

Offline Mike Scholtes

• Admiral
Re: Trophy from the past.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 11:12:03 PM »
I'm no expert on model history but the trophy reads "Sponsored by Greater Detroit Plymouth Dealers." It probably is from the Plymouth contest series, sponsored by Plymouth Motors, that was a big deal around 1950, in the East and Midwest of the USA. There are others on this site who surely will have detailed information and hopefully will chime in. How it made it to Sydney may be lost in the mists of time. Detroit is in the State of Michigan of course, but the trophy probably has nothing to do with the State of Michigan per se.

Offline Scott Richlen

• AMA Member
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2018, 05:59:35 AM »
What a great trophy!

Looking at the little figure, do you think they took a figure of a person swinging a tennis racket, sawed off the racket, and then connected wires to his hand?

I still like it though.

Offline Derek Barry

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2018, 06:41:31 AM »
That's an awesome trophy.

Derek

Offline Chris Cox

• Commander
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2018, 08:10:35 AM »
A trophy like that would deserve to be placed where it could be seen on a daily basis. Beautiful!

Offline Dave Harmon

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
  • Tulsa Glue Dobbers C/L and R/C Clubs
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2018, 09:26:18 AM »
It should not be too difficult to determine who the trophy was presented to considering that the plaque says '1st Place'.