News:

• April 16, 2024, 06:47:10 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: T&L .40 How should it run???  (Read 1010 times)

Offline frank mccune

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
T&L .40 How should it run???
« on: September 19, 2018, 04:05:57 PM »
        Hi All:

I got an old Ringmaster Imperial out of  the attic to fly today and it had a Tom Lay .40 engine mounted.  This engine is one of the ones that he made by installing a ST .46 P&C into an OS .35 Stunt case.  Is this engine supposed to only run in 4 cycle mode or is it supposed to 4-2-4?? 

I flew it in a wet 4 cycle and I thought that I would feel much better if it did a 2 cycle break through the manouvers. The plane flew very well and the engine  started first flip each time.  I have never flown this plane or started the engine prior to  today.  They have been both hanging in my attic since circa 1980.   I have no idea as to when the plane was built but the engine was put together circa 1977.  Even after all that time, the engine started first flip!!!!!!! It appears to hae great compression.

Has anybody had any experience with the TL .40 in the past?  How about a RMI.  Thoughts comments etc.

Be well,

Frank McCune

Offline frank williams

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: T&L .40 How should it run???
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2018, 05:30:33 PM »
I had no idea that you could make that swap.  A ST46 piston and sleeve in an OS35 case.  Whats the timing like, I wonder.

Offline Bruce Hautamaki

• Lieutenant
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2018, 09:59:21 PM »
If it's a Tom Lay or Aldrich OS 35 they replaced the Con Rod to a Super Tigre. I don't think 46 p&l would fit. George did two for me and I had to send the con rod with it. He supplied wrist pin etc and did his magic.

Offline Air Ministry .

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 10:23:50 PM »