News:

• April 16, 2024, 01:58:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Tin sheet 0.005" source for tank stock  (Read 5265 times)

Offline Dennis Toth

• 2020 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Tin sheet 0.005" source for tank stock
« on: October 30, 2016, 10:26:31 AM »
Guys,
Working on building the tank for my new Barnstormer, the tank area is tight and I need to go around 3/16" deeper than standard to pack in a little more fuel (hope to get to 4oz). I am looking for a source for 0.005" tin sheet stock. I know K&S has the 0.008" but the 0.005" would be my preference. Anyone know a source?

Best,    DennisT

Offline Robert Zambelli

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Tin sheet 0.005" source for tank stock
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2016, 11:40:26 AM »
Hi, Dennis.
I have been using brass shimstock from McMaster-Carr for many years without problems.

They also sell tin shimstock but it's very expensive.

https://www.mcmaster.com/#shim-stock/=14to8p3

Bob Z.

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2016, 12:39:35 PM »
Dennis,

Brodak makes custom tanks. Brodak also sells the stock.

Charles
Trump Derangement Syndrome. TDS. 
Avaiojet Derangement Syndrome. ADS.
Amazing how ignorance can get in the way of the learning process.
If you're Trolled, you know you're doing something right.  Alpha Mike Foxtrot. "No one has ever made a difference by being like everyone else."  Marcus Cordeiro, The "Mark of Excellence," you will not be forgotten. "No amount of evidence will ever persuade an idiot."- Mark Twain. I look at the Forum as a place to contribute and make friends, some view it as a Realm where they could be King.   Proverb 11.9  "With his mouth the Godless destroys his neighbor..."  "Perhaps the greatest challenge in modeling is to build a competitive control line stunter that looks like a real airplane." David McCellan, 1980.

Offline Steve Helmick