News:

• March 29, 2024, 04:36:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Stooge Question (not Moe,Larry and Curly)  (Read 2519 times)

Offline Leester

• 2014 Supporters
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Stooge Question (not Moe,Larry and Curly)
« on: February 28, 2006, 12:58:37 PM »
If the wind isn't to bad I'm flying tomarrow. Suppose to be darn near 60 in west central Illinois. I bought one of Don Ogrens stooges that he shows in the Jan. Feb. S/N. I've never used one before but looks simple enough, my question is when you are finished with the flight how do you get the plane and lines back to your starting position without unhooking and rolling up your lines everytime? I've got ideas but would rather hear from the experienced stooge users first.  Thanks
Leester
ama 830538

Offline Louis Rankin

• Commander
Re: Stooge Question (not Moe,Larry and Curly)
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2006, 02:00:01 PM »
Leester,

After landing you will have to retrieve your plane and walk it back to the stooge.  Yes, you will be dragging the lines and handle.  Before you start dragging, place your handle in a manner so that the lines will stay straight so as not to kink them.  After you hook the plane back up to the stooge, go to the handle shake the lines a little before walking the twists out.  Also, you need to learn to whip your model and land it anywhere you choose.  With practice you will be able to land within 10ft or so of the stooge.
Louis Rankin
Somerville Tennessee
AMA 10859

Offline Elwyn Aud

• 2019 supporter
  • Admiral
    • Inferalandings Photo Page
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2006, 04:49:44 PM »
I've heard of flyers putting their control handle inside of a plastic oil container that's been cut in half so when they drag the handle across asphalt or cement it doesn't get scratched up.  If flying with a stooge I would definitely want to have a cell phone handy for emergencies and a first aid kit is always good to have close by.