News:

• March 29, 2024, 09:35:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Spike Plug  (Read 899 times)

Online Dave Harmon

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
  • Tulsa Glue Dobbers C/L and R/C Clubs
Spike Plug
« on: September 16, 2021, 11:49:19 AM »
I've been doing this for a very long time but I've never seen a plug like this one.
It was in a bag with some other plugs I have been carrying around for many years.
It appears to never have been used.
Can anyone identify it....mfgrs name, model year etc??

Offline Steve Helmick

• AMA Member and supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Spike Plug
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2021, 12:07:02 PM »
Is it a SPARK plug or a GLOW plug? Does it say "SPIKE" on it, or what is that about? It LOOKS like it is a SPARK plug from the bottom, but I'd be interested in seeing top side and side view photos.

Old model aero/car/boat spark plugs had a threaded post and some sort of a nut end up top, to fasten the ignition wire on. Some were a 3/8"-? thread and some 1/4-32, and some were even rebuildable. Other than Champion, IDK what brands were available back in the olde days. I do remember the smell of gas & oil fondly, but I never ran a "sparkie" myself.  H^^ Steve
"The United States has become a place where professional athletes and entertainers are mistaken for people of importance." - Robert Heinlein

In 1944 18-20 year old's stormed beaches, and parachuted behind enemy lines to almost certain death.  In 2015 18-20 year old's need safe zones so people don't hurt their feelings.

Online Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2021, 12:22:36 PM »