News:

• April 28, 2024, 12:18:33 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: So here's what happened....  (Read 1965 times)

Offline Phil Coopy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
  • SHADE TREE MECHANIC, NO ENGINEER
So here's what happened....
« on: January 18, 2011, 04:32:52 PM »
For those of you who witnessed my practice vertical eight turn into a spectacular vertical nine at KOI Saturday evening, here is what happened.  The top brass ferrul on the bellcrank post apparently suffered from a bad solder job (embarassing 'cause I was an electronics tech for many years) and moved up far enough to let the bellcrank bushing move along with it.  Subsequently the bellcrank moved up also and hung up on a rib. And at my skill level, on the bottom loop of a vertical eight, it was all over by the time I realized I had a problem.  I couldn't figure out what happened till we tore the wing center section apart.  Ordered a new Vector 40 kit today.

Phil

Offline ray copeland

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
Re: So here's what happened....
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2011, 04:49:07 PM »
Phil, sorry for your loss but thanks for the post. As you know i am constructing a Vector kit now, i will double check my bellcrank solder joints and mounts. Good luck on your next one!!
Ray from Greensboro, North Carolina , six laps inverted so far with my hand held vertically!!! (forgot to mention, none level!) AMA# 902150

Offline John Stiles

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
  • one shot=one kill
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2011, 04:49:39 PM »
Boy I bet that sucked bigtime.....I hate soldering anything for that reason, and I use watered down muriatic acid to make sure I get adhesion. But I hate it...and that copper wire wrapping and then soldering; hasta be about the ugliest thing I ever saw...........but ya gotta do what ya gotta do I guess. Hate it 4ya and the plane. H^^
John Stiles             Tulip, Ar.

Offline wwwarbird

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral