News:

• May 22, 2024, 10:16:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Seeding  (Read 11206 times)

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Re: Seeding
« Reply #100 on: December 02, 2007, 11:39:44 AM »
The last time I was able to actually fly in the NATS, seeding was used.  I thought nothing of it.  It's the way it is.

Maybe it's because I was a coach at a pretty high level for 30 plus years and have become accustomed to playing the game as and where we had to play it.  Might be a wet field, might be below freezing, might be a heat index over 100, etc., you just have to prepare the best you can, perform the best you can, and let the chips fall.

When I return to flying at the NATS, I will not let seeding affect my decision to do so at all.  I do not see (nor have I ever seen) a problem with seeding.

I think that approach to competition will affect your placing a lot more than seeding will.
The Jive Combat Team
Making combat and stunt great again

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #101 on: December 02, 2007, 11:51:31 AM »
I think that it still leaves too much to those doing the seeding, especially if they chose to seed beyond the first 5-10....

It might be considered an "honorarium" if those finishing in the top 5 in Open were seeded......but there can be no scientific or even justifiable reason for seeding throughout the field.

I don't know if it can do any harm.  I doubt it.  Maybe seeding could be done voluntarily: if you want to be seeded, you get seeded. 

I ran the program again to see the effect at the break between the last seed and the best nonseed.  There was no jump in fortune between the two. I posted results on SSW.  For the 2008 Nats four-group format with 12 seeds, seeding helps both the (seeded) 12th-best and (unseeded) 13th-best flyers a little, and hurts both the 20th-best and 21st-best flyers a wee bit. 
The Jive Combat Team

Offline Ted Fancher

• 23 supporter