News:

• April 25, 2024, 12:54:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Pathfinder Problem  (Read 1947 times)

Offline Bob Zambelli

• 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Pathfinder Problem
« on: August 23, 2006, 06:11:54 AM »
I received a note that a friend is having some vibration problems with a Brodak Pathfinder (Profile).
It is powered by an LA .46.

I have no experience with this plane so I'll ask - have any of you had a vibration issue with this combination?

If so, what was/is the fix.

THANKS!!
                     Bob Z.

« Last Edit: August 23, 2006, 06:15:14 AM by Robert Storick »

Offline Roger Vizioli

• CLiner
  • 21 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Pathfinder Problem
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2006, 06:22:10 AM »
Hi Bob,
Don't have one, but all I have seen are smooth. a few ideas are,
On ground -First thoughts are: prop balance, bent engine crank, glue joint-wing to /fuselage at LE, soft motor mounts.
Flying - push rod resonance, loose controls, again, glue joint @ fuse/wing LE. soft motor mounts, bent shaft.
or -
does engine run smoothly on test stand?
Just a few "thoughts".
Roger
Roger Vizioli
AMA L-2408
Florida/Space Coast

steven yampolsky

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2006, 06:52:31 AM »
I received a note that a friend is having some vibration problems with a Brodak Pathfinder (Profile).

I have no experience with this plane so I'll ask - have any of you had a vibration issue with this combination?

THANKS!!
                     Bob Z.

Bob,

I fly Pathfinder ARF + LA46 combo. No excessice vibration there. One thing I would suggest  in addition to Roger's suggestions is to check aluminum clamp system. Brodak ARFs use fairly thin aluminum strip to clamp the engine to the engine mounts. I've seen people overtighten the clamps to the point where they will bow and grab onto one edge only. For example, it would grab onto the rear edge effectively leaving the front of the engine loose.