News:

• May 27, 2024, 02:47:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New plane  (Read 1289 times)

Offline Tom Blodgett

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
New plane
« on: December 19, 2007, 04:19:08 AM »
I have pretty much decided that my first plane will be an ARF or a simple “profile” style model (.40 size). That way, when I damage it while learning to fly, the repairs will be a little easier. Since I have been flying R/C scale and pattern since 1974, I have build approx 40-45 airplanes over that period of time. I will also like to build (this winter) what will be my second C/L plane. I have narrowed my selection down to the “Green box” 57 Nobler or the Vector 40. What would be a good engine for either of these (2) aircraft? I also would like to use this same engine for my “trainer” if possible.

My other question is what to use for covering either of these (2) planes with? Coming from the R/C side of the sport, with open construction, I would use Sig Koverall with a Dope finish. Would this method also work well with these types of models? Or would silk span be a better choice?

Thanks,

Tom
AMA 52863 (Since 1974)

Offline Ron King

• Commander
Re: New plane
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2007, 07:33:06 AM »
Tom,

Welcome back to CL. I also spent many, many years flying RC between CL stints.

For your first model, I would suggest a profile Cardinal, powered by a 40 engine. Your building ideas are fine and the absolute killer engine would be an Aero Tiger 36 from Randy Smith.  :## Unfortunately, that engine might stress your wallet, so another 40 should be fine. I would recommend the Brodak 40 or Double Star 40, but don't know the delivery status of either engine right now. Hope someone else chimes in here and helps.

I would go with silkspan and move away from Koverall - it's very heavy and not necessary for CL models.