News:

• May 12, 2024, 08:42:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: AKROMASTER HELP NEEDED  (Read 2737 times)

Offline raby fink

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Ensign
AKROMASTER HELP NEEDED
« on: April 08, 2009, 08:20:04 PM »
I have a Akromaster that I have about 3/4 finished. I am wondering if some of you that has one can tell me the prop size, tank size and line cable width. I have a 52 x .015, but I think it might be to large of a diameter. It is powered by an OS15. All answers are welcome.
Thanks for the help
Raby

Offline Steve Helmick

• AMA Member and supporter
  • Admiral
Re: AKROMASTER HELP NEEDED
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 08:42:37 PM »
I would ask what OS .15 you've got. A typical baffled piston .15 like the OS and Fox like an 8-4 real well. The FP and LA will churn ok with a 9-4, but something between will probably work better. The Top Flite Power Point props are easily the best wood props I've used, BTW. APC's are losing favor to Thunder Tiger Cyclone props, but both work very well. LOTS of performance comes from using the right prop.

A 2 oz tank will be plenty big enough...general practise is to fill the tank and then suck out a specific amount known to meet the 8 minute flight time (if you were to fly in a contest). A 1.5 oz tank will be big enough to make you happy, however. The new line rules allow up to 24 oz planes to fly on .008" braided lines, but I wouldn't do it. I'd suggest .012" braided lines...and a TED HANDLE from Carl Shoup.  y1 Steve 
"The United States has become a place where professional athletes and entertainers are mistaken for people of importance." - Robert Heinlein

In 1944 18-20 year old's stormed beaches, and parachuted behind enemy lines to almost certain death.  In 2015 18-20 year old's need safe zones so people don't hurt their feelings.

Offline Scott B. Riese

• AMA Member
  • Captain
  • Just a student of stunt
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 10:40:54 PM »