News:

• April 19, 2024, 11:37:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Here we go again- Afghanistan  (Read 1601 times)

Offline Sean McEntee

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Here we go again- Afghanistan
« on: February 17, 2019, 12:34:51 AM »
Hey folks,

Just letting y'all know I made it into country safe and sound.  Another 9-month trip.  As Tom Cruise said in A Few Good Men, " Its nothing--its a hockey season!"

Big Army just completed a huge round of layoffs of civilian contractor pilots.  This biggest chuck of which is at the UAS flight school at Ft Huachuca.  A former colleague who instructs there tells me that he just made the cut, but Army is far from done with the layoffs.  Even when I was a wide-eyed student in flight school, 15 years ago, I wondered why there were so many civilians teaching there, and how long that would last.  Looks like the hammer is finally falling.  Simultaneously, a lot of my fellows are receiving orders to Huachuca to serve as instructors. 

Reading between the lines, I'm betting that I will be headed that way when I return from this deployment.  If that's the case, this will probably be my last war party.  I will be just shy of 16 years of service at redeployment, and a move to Arizona would most likely take me to retirement.  Six deployments seems like a nice round number, with three in each country, So I'm treating this as the last one.

I remember how big of a deal it was going my first one, not giving a thought to a second....third...fourth...fifth or sixth!  There are obviously aspects of deploying that I wont miss, but a lot of it that I will.   I've made a lot of good friends and built a lot of fond memories, all while fulfilling the lifelong dream of flying combat missions (though not quite the way I envisioned it when I was a kid!)  I should also hit the 4000 flight hour mark this year, and that sounds like a good number to end on too.