News:

• April 26, 2024, 02:32:19 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Fuel Tanks  (Read 3053 times)

Offline Bill Diedrich

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Ensign
Fuel Tanks
« on: July 05, 2006, 06:29:09 PM »
What is the prefered type of fuel tanks for both profile and built up fuselage planes.  I have heard and been advised plastic clunk type and on the other hand metal tanks.........What say the experts, inquiring minds want to know.

y1  y1  y1  y1  y1
"To be old is to be wise"
AMA 867732
Ventress, Louisiana

Offline Paul Taylor

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
  • If God is your Co-pilot - swap seats!
    • Our Local CL Web Page
Re: Fuel Tanks
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 06:44:53 PM »
I would say clunk on profiles for sure.

But I am no expert. Guess you will have to wait a little bit for the experts to answer. <=
Paul
AMA 842917

Tight Lines = Fun Times

Offline Wynn Robins

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 08:00:03 PM »
many schools of thought on this.....a lot depends onth engine you intend to use.

For me and my OS engines.....clunk tanks are the ticket for both profile and built up planes.

In the battle of airplane versus ground, the ground is yet to lose

Offline Bill Little

• Admiral
  • Second in COMMAND
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2006, 08:07:17 PM »
Hi Bill,

No preference here.  I use both types on profiles.  Usually just whatever I have at the time that is the right size.  I do tend to use metal tanks on older style engines and clunks on the newer engines, but for no apparent reason.

Also it is somewhat dependant on what size tank I need and the space available to put it in.

Some swear by and/or swear at both types!  %^ **) **)

Of course, you have to know that I am the proverbial "Blind Squirrell"!  y1

Bill <><

Big Bear <><

Aberdeen, NC

James Hylton Motorsports/NASCAR/ARCA

AMA 95351 (got one of my old numbers back! ;D )

Trying to get by

Offline Randy Cuberly

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral