News:

• April 27, 2024, 05:38:54 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Getting back into the hobby  (Read 609 times)

Offline Scott Johnson

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Getting back into the hobby
« on: June 19, 2023, 11:16:27 AM »
Hi all, this is my first time posting here. I'm recently semi-retired and would like to get back into the hobby after about 40yrs. I flew control line with my dad back in the late 70's early 80's, so I have some experience flying(not stunt though). I also have built several planes with my dad and a couple by myself, again this was 40ish years ago. I have been watching Sparky and all the builds and repairs and I have learned alot. My question to the masses is,"What is a good kit to start with?" I don't want a profile plane or electric, I would like a kit I can take my time on and really get into the build, I would like to silk span it and a dope finish like dad and I used to do. The hobby has changed so much and I'm really not sure where to start. Thank You in advance for all that reply.

Thanks Scotty

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Getting back into the hobby
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2023, 11:39:32 AM »
Would really help if we knew where you are located.  At the bottom of this post you will see where I'm at.  As far as kits browse the Brodak Mfg site as well as RSM Distribution.   Also if you look through this forum you will see builds of planes.  If you need a plane ready to fly there may be some help out there.  Welcome back and don't be afraid to ask questions. D>K
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203
AMA 23530  Have fun as I have and I am still breaking a record.

Offline Scott Johnson

• New Pilot
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2023, 11:56:35 AM »