News:

• March 29, 2024, 01:36:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Does Sig Banshee fly like Sig Chipmunk?  (Read 1382 times)

Offline Joe Ed Pederson

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Does Sig Banshee fly like Sig Chipmunk?
« on: July 21, 2021, 05:01:00 PM »
On the box of the Sig Banshee it says it was designed to fly like the Sig Chipmunk.  A couple of years ago I bought a box stock Banshee with a Fox .35 from a club member who no longer flies CL.  I recovered the wings with polyspan and dope (41 ounce without fuel).  I recently started flying it.  After adding tail weight to get the CG close to that on the plans, I love the way it flies.  It will make as tight a loop as the Primary Force ARF I destroyed (or as I suspect, the bellcrank light ply mounts let go causing the crash).  The ability to make really tight loops gives me confidence I can get out of a jam since I'm a beginner who still cannot fly all the maneuvers in the beginner pattern.  I was really surprised by how well the Fox. 35 and RSM 10 x 6 prop pulls it through even the really tight loops.

Anyway, I was wondering if the Super Chipmunk flies as nimbly as my Banshee.

I've researched the Stunthanger threads on both models, but nobody I've read affirmed that the Super Chipmunk flies as well as the Banshee or vice versa.  I recently was given a Banshee kit (the wood is pretty good) by a friend and I think I'll make it a Bansheek either with another Fox .35 or and FP .25  I've got a Banshee wing kit and I may build the Banshee with the wing moved forward to compare which of the three I like the best.

I just wish the Banshee fuselage wasn't so ugly (to me anyway), although that low fin/rudder is advantageous in inadvertent inverted landings/crashes.

Joe Ed Pederson

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Does Sig Banshee fly like Sig Chipmunk?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2021, 05:13:46 PM »