News:

• March 29, 2024, 04:07:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Tom Morris Takeapart Hardware  (Read 9838 times)

Offline Brett Buck

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Re: Tom Morris Takeapart Hardware
« Reply #50 on: November 19, 2022, 04:31:30 PM »
Everything is available, for example these cutters that would easily produce such deep square blind hole with a 0,75mm corner radius. Also available with a ball-end. I do it often with manual machines, too.  But honestly, as a mechanic, I don't understand the added complication of such a deep blind square hole. To me an U-beam is almost equally elegant. L

If you are digging 2" deep with that end mill, in carbide, I hope you are wearing eye protection and a flak jacket.

Again, I intentionally limit myself to things I can do with a drill and some files in my bedroom, and taking it to my buddys garage for milling was way out of my comfort zone.

I like Paul's co-axial alignment pin. Making a separate hole for it on mine was a pain to set up accurately enough.

Brett

Online Lauri Malila

• Admiral
« Reply #51 on: November 20, 2022, 12:42:50 AM »
No. If you look at the drawing, the hole is 1,07” deep.
It’s not dangerous at all; you first drill a center hole and then proceed with the square X/Y movement, removing 0,5mm at each pass. DRO is your friend.
But it’s quite slow, of course. You'll need watchmakers patience. Biggest problem is evacuating the chips from the hole; working at home I cannot use high pressure coolant.
Anyway, I’ll make my parts
With a П-channel where the spar is glued. I guess the channel will be something like 40…45mm long. L
« Last Edit: November 20, 2022, 03:56:15 AM by Lauri Malila »

Offline Kim Doherty

• Commander
« Reply #52 on: November 25, 2022, 10:48:03 PM »
Lifted from an older post:

Some more "Grist for the mill"

Below I have attached some pictures of different take apart systems and construction details.