News:

• May 14, 2024, 06:33:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Dynamic prop balancing, anybody ever try to do this?  (Read 1027 times)

Online frank mccune

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Dynamic prop balancing, anybody ever try to do this?
« on: June 25, 2023, 10:49:59 PM »
     Hi All:

While attempting to balance the blades on an overhead fan, I began to think about a way that I could dynamically  balance the props on my model airplane engines.  I am now balancing my props via a static method which may not be good enough. 

Any suggestions/comments?

Frank

Offline katana

• Commander
Re: Dynamic prop balancing, anybody ever try to do this?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2023, 04:04:09 AM »
I've no 'real world' experience balancing props but when balancing rotating components dynamically in race bike and car engines it is always best to have the whole rotating assembly balanced together rather than as separate components, just assembled together. There will be minor slight balance variations in individual components, which although within spec. will act with others to put the whole assembly out. Turbo turbines / shaft / compressor assemblies always get balanced when finally assembled, 150k rpm is unforgiving if out of balance  y1

Offline Motorman

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2023, 08:40:18 AM »
I've designed and built props up and down the spectrum from 4K to 40K. Static balance is quite adeqate.

MM

Offline Lauri Malila

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2023, 08:55:18 AM »
« Last Edit: June 28, 2023, 04:39:41 AM by Lauri Malila »

Online Paul Wescott

• 21 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2023, 09:21:50 AM »