News:

• March 28, 2024, 02:40:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: cad drawing  (Read 818 times)

Offline Al Williams

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
cad drawing
« on: February 24, 2021, 03:14:34 PM »
This should probably go in the cad section but I do not know where!
I am a 2D cad operator at work and I am looking for the best way to trace plans.  For example a wing rib.  I have used the pline command and picked points along the curve and then splined the line.  This works but is tedious.  I have also used the spline command which need a lot less points and looks very good.

I take the plans to work and scan them as a PDF I can import them into a drawing as a PDF or save the file as a Tiff and import that.  I have found that the plans were drawn by hand  and parts may not be very accurately consistent as we can do now with Autocad.  For example, the wing rib length in the rib details does not equal the length in the wing layout.    Using cad I can correct this by redrawing the ribs or the wing layout.

I like to scan in the plans so I always have a copy.  This way I can print out multiply copies to cut up.  I could do this without Autocad.   By putting the scans into autocad I can correct any discrepancies I find.

So back to the original question, what is the easiest way to trace the curves?

One of the younger engineers at work said there is a way to import a scan as a line drawing but he could not do it.

Thanks 

Offline Dave Rigotti

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
  • "Electric...The future of anytime stunt"
Re: cad drawing
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 04:17:41 PM »
What CAD program do you use at work?  Maybe someone here can help.
Dave Rigotti
AMA 66859
Chesterland, Ohio

Offline George Truett

• 2018 Supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2021, 04:36:50 PM »