News:

• May 16, 2024, 12:47:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Definitions needed  (Read 913 times)

Offline Paul Taylor

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
  • If God is your Co-pilot - swap seats!
    • Our Local CL Web Page
Definitions needed
« on: May 20, 2006, 01:49:54 PM »
It is no secret that I am not very good at setting needles. I am not an engine man. I have started to use a Tach to assist me with getting good needle settings. And a lot help from my flying buddies.
I understand what a 4x2 break is. I can here that. I know what a screaming 2 cycle sound like. But I am not sure I know the difference between a rich 2 cycle and a lean 2 cycle.
Not sure if it can be done but can someone give definitions for some of the terms setting needles?

Wet 2:
Sloppy 2:
Fast 4:
And any more that you can think of.

Oh yea and besides the obvious…. Engine smoking and smelling burnt or locks up.
What is too hot? f~

Thanks!
Paul
AMA 842917

Tight Lines = Fun Times

Offline Jim Thomerson

• Admiral
Re: Definitions needed
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2006, 04:38:13 PM »
I don't know that there are defined definitions.  I'd say a wet two is just occasionally dropping into a 4-cycle and when you hold the nose up, the engine leans out, but does not sag.

Offline Randy Powell

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
  • TreeTop Flyer
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2006, 12:23:27 AM »
Generally, a rich 2 cycle is running in a 2 cycle just barely above the 4 cycle so that it will occasionally drop into a 4 cycle.
Member in good standing of P.I.S.T
(Politically Incorrect Stunt Team)
AMA 67711
 Randy Powell

Offline L0U CRANE

• AMA Member
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2006, 01:08:17 AM »
Paul,

Even on the half and half castor/synthetic oil fuels, there should be some visible exhaust "smoke" or vapor. There's less the leaner you go. The modern ABC, ABN, and AAC engines get plenty of lube from the popular 10%-11%-11% fuels, and should not fry.