News:

• April 18, 2024, 04:23:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Balsa Dust?  (Read 1358 times)

Offline Joe Messinger

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Balsa Dust?
« on: September 30, 2006, 10:06:35 AM »
Hello,

Since I've gotten back at building and flying c/l planes (from the '60's) these past few years  I've discover that I have an allergic recaction to balsa dust that I never experienced in the past.  Cold like symptoms.  Sore throat, burning eyes and congestion.   It lasts for several days after exposure to the dust.

I wear a dust mask when I'm sanding but that only helps to a point.  I guess the residual dust in the shop plays a role in things.

I'm a carpenter by trade and am exposed to airborn wood dust on a daily basis but have never had any type of reaction to spruce, pine and various other types of wood dust.  Just balsa.

Is this unique to me or do others have this problem? If so, any suggestions that might help?

Thanks,

Joe
Joe Messinger

Offline Harry Rice

• Lieutenant
Re: Balsa Dust?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2006, 11:50:00 AM »
Hi Joe,

Are you sanding glued balsa? Is it possible it  may be the cyanoacrylate glue dust which is causing the problem?

Rgds

Harry

Offline Joe Messinger

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2006, 12:47:37 PM »
Harry,

No, not any CA involved, just balsa.  I do know several people who have had a reaction to CA glue.  So far, the glue hasn't affected me.

Thanks,

Joe
Joe Messinger

Online RC Storick

• Forum owner
  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • The finish starts with the first piece of wood cut
    • Stunt Hangar
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2006, 03:44:26 PM »
 **) Start CA-ing parts together ,the CA will weld the nose hairs shut.  %^ End of problem.  :X

Take it easy on me JUST KIDDING!
AMA 12366

Offline Dick Fowler

• Captain
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2006, 07:05:07 AM »