News:

• April 25, 2024, 02:44:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Anybody tried "ICAREX"?  (Read 1305 times)

Offline Claudio Chacon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Anybody tried "ICAREX"?
« on: January 19, 2022, 07:38:09 AM »
Hi there!
Ever used the covering film "ICAREX" in any of your CL projects, guys?
It's widely used amongst the Free Flight community...

It looks like a very light and strong material (I never had a piece in my hand to "feel" it...do you?)

What do you think?

Thanks!
Claudio.

Online Lauri Malila

• Admiral
Re: Anybody tried "ICAREX"?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2022, 09:33:58 AM »
Yes Claudio, like everybody else, I've been using it for many years in free flight. It's a product that has made paper and polyester tissue obsolete. I'm sure that it would be great for CL models too, once you learn the tricks. I've tried to promote it here a couple of times but there seems to be no interest. Change is bad.
But be careful what you buy, there are fake products in the internet, and the original Icarex is not the best either. The best product is the Japanese "New Icarex", no idea what real brand is. Perhaps Norm F. knows..?
In US the only supplier I know is FAI Model Supplies, and another reliable supplier is Eitan Haba in Israel. Eitan has also more colours in stock than the usual white, blue & red.

Offline Claudio Chacon

• Captain
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2022, 10:47:05 AM »
Yes Claudio, like everybody else, I've been using it for many years in free flight. It's a product that has made paper and polyester tissue obsolete. I'm sure that it would be great for CL models too, once you learn the tricks. I've tried to promote it here a couple of times but there seems to be no interest. Change is bad.
But be careful what you buy, there are fake products in the internet, and the original Icarex is not the best either. The best product is the Japanese "New Icarex", no idea what real brand is. Perhaps Norm F. knows..?