News:

• June 15, 2024, 12:12:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New to C/L  (Read 3833 times)

Offline Tom Blodgett

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
New to C/L
« on: December 13, 2007, 03:29:32 AM »
Hi,

I am considering entering the sport of C/L aerobatics. I have been involved in model aviation since I was 8 years old. I am now 48. For most of my adult life, I have been involved in the R/C area of model aviation. I flew mainly "scale" and "pattern". I have found myself somewhat "bored" with that area of the sport and I am looking for something a little different for myself, this is leading me toward C/L flying. I have Little to no experience with C/L flying and would like your opinions on what kit I might build for my first stunt plane? I am interested in using a .40 size engine for this first plane. Any comments or advise would be a great help.

Thank you,

Tom

AMA 52863
AMA 52863 (Since 1974)

Offline Warren Leadbeatter

• AUS-14782
  • Captain
    • My Home Page
Re: New to C/L
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2007, 04:08:25 AM »
Hi Tom

I would recommend something like a SIG Twister, Sterling Ringmaster or a Top Flite Flite Streak and use a OS 25 or .30 4 stroke.  I have Saito 30s on my Twister and Ringmaster and they fly beautifully.  These are all profile fuselage and excellent for learning the pattern. 

Then once you are happy that you can fly the pattern, move on up to a full fuselage 35/40 powered model like a Nobler or something similar or whatever takes your fancy.

Cheers
Warren Leadbeatter
Port Stephens, Australia
AUS-14782

Alan Hahn

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2007, 05:43:55 AM »
I would suggest you Google Sig, Brodak, and RSM. They have a lot or reasonable priced planes in the 40 category which would suit you. Also check out the vendor categories below for other kit suppliers.

Offline Warren Leadbeatter

• AUS-14782
  • Captain
    • My Home Page
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2007, 05:48:42 AM »