News:

• May 02, 2024, 03:26:15 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Managing Molicel P28A 18650 batteries  (Read 54 times)

Offline Matt Brown

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Managing Molicel P28A 18650 batteries
« on: Yesterday at 12:56:50 PM »
Over the last few months I have converted my SV11 arf from a 4S lipo system to a 6S 18650 setup. Motor runs much cooler at same rpm and prop(different motor but same size, different KV) and the 6S battery is a full 3oz lighter than the lipo battery I was using. I’ve been flying electric on lipos for about 20 years. Only the last 5 or so on CL stunt. I have good grasp on Lipo handling and management but not so much with these newer high rate 18650 cells. Can anyone share their thoughts on these batteries. I’ve been playing it safe so far only charging to 4.1 volts per cell and I’m only running them down to about 3.6/3.7 volts per cell(resting voltage).
I was very regimented on Lipos as I ruined my share in the early days of their use. I’d rather not abuse my 18650s. Are you doing storage charges? Limiting how long you leave a pack fully charged? Any other tidbits you can offer?

Thanks, Matt

Offline Ken Culbertson

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Re: Managing Molicel P28A 18650 batteries
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 04:06:57 PM »