News:

• March 28, 2024, 04:52:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Returning from a long break.  (Read 5241 times)

Offline Damian Paten

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Ensign
Returning from a long break.
« on: April 26, 2014, 11:05:13 PM »
Greetings all from the land down under.  H^^
My name is Damian and I'm from Brisbane, Australia.
This seems like a good area to introduce myself with a little history of my C/L career.

I first flew C/L as a Jr back in 88, 89 and 90 and I was a confidently established aerobatics pilot. I had built most of my own planes, mostly kits with 3 or 4 scratch builds and loved to fly whenever I had 5 min.
I competed in local, state and national championships and managed to take out the 1990 Jr nationals in Tamworth NSW flying a Brian Burke custom built aerobatic model. He called it the mongrel. It was bits and pieces of his current designs and a few new bits thrown in. I flew a lot of Brians models with the Mako being the one I loved.
I had some great coaches around me Brian being one of them. He was very well known throughout the C/L industry in Australia and was the goto man for anything combat. I have since learned Brian has passed away in 2013. RIP big fella.

My parents bought me the Top Flight Gieseke Nobler kit for my 12th birthday and I went to work straight away. I completed the model in a little over 3 months. I powered it with an OS 40 (FSR???? can't remember the letters) and was so eager to fly it I maidened it on a very very windy day. It flew beautifully straight off, requiring a little tip weight and the forward lead out to be moved back a whisker for a little more nose out but other than that I had my very own precision aerobatics model that I could stare at every night and run through the pattern in my head. That was a massive thing for me back then.