News:

• March 28, 2024, 06:27:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Henry Is Retired... But He Still Loves Designing and Building Stuff  (Read 2671 times)

Offline Henry McClusky

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Greetings and Salutations

First off I'd like to thank you for allowing me to be a member of this forum. 

I got started in Control Line back in the mid 1970's flying a COX 049 Super Sport.  The plane is long gone.. but I've still got the motor.

My grandfather had a bunch of old glow plug motors so I moved up from the Super Sport to building my own plane.  A 33" P-40 that ran an old 35 Torpedo Engine.

At that point life got in the way of my hobby.   Fast Forward...  I'm now a retired Mechanical Engineer / CAD Monkey.   /DV

I was also into rocketry back in the day and just recently finished a scratch built X-wing that I designed and built.  I was thinking of building a small x-wing style control line plane similar to the American Boy, something simple in construction, but as a pusher style plane.  Here's some screen shots and some photo's of the rocket I just completed.

I'd probably be way better off though starting with a way more basic plane.  I'm thinking the x-wing is going to be very challenging.

« Last Edit: December 03, 2018, 07:59:19 AM by Henry McClusky »

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Henry Is Retired... But He Still Loves Designing and Building Stuff
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2018, 01:38:54 PM »
I'm thinking that x-plane is going to be pretty challenging, too!  And as drawn, it'll have way too much motor -- it looks like the correct prop for that engine would have the same diameter as your wingspan.