News:

• March 29, 2024, 02:04:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: What size motor for a Topflite Tutor  (Read 2145 times)

Offline Geoff Newborn

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
What size motor for a Topflite Tutor
« on: June 25, 2017, 05:09:28 AM »
Hi all, just getting back into control line after a long time, I have been flying RC for many years so have got motors and lipos available to use but I have no idea what sort of power an electric control line needs.
I have been given an old Topflite Tutor kit and would like to build it with electric power, in the RC world people talk about watts/lbs (100 watts/lbs for trainers, 200 watts/lbs for aerobatics) and most of my aerobatic RC models are running at 150-200+ watts/lbs. which gives good vertical performance.

Is there a similar guide for control line models?

Thanks in advance
Geoff

Offline Rogerio Fiorotti

• Lieutenant
    • Control Line by Fiorotti
Re: What size motor for a Topflite Tutor
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2017, 04:47:08 PM »
Geoff,

First let me convert Lbs into grams I'm more accustomed to.

1lb = 453.59gr if my calculations are correct.

In some "datalogger" charts drawn from Castle's ESCs peak power reached close to 800W in F2B maneuvers for an aircraft of 1900gr = 4.19lb, his thinking seems to be correct.

But I use an 1150W (Hyperion 3025 - 775kV) motor with a working temperature of 75ºC. I prefer to use engines with power greater than 30%.

I hope helped.

Rogerio Fiorotti

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2017, 06:56:16 PM »
With a constant-speed timer, 7W per ounce average (to size the battery), 11W/ounce peak (to size the motor and ESC).  More for "reactive" timers like the Burger or Fiorotti, but I dunno how much.

At the top of the forum is a sticky thread called List Your Set-up that has a bunch of setups listed.  There should be at least one Tutor in there, as well as a lot of similar-sized planes.
AMA 64232