News:

• March 28, 2024, 06:06:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: What's wrong with this battery?  (Read 1567 times)

Offline Ara Dedekian

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
  • Ara Dedekian
What's wrong with this battery?
« on: October 18, 2021, 05:53:02 AM »

This battery is lifeless! It doesn't light up the battery tester, the charger asks, 'where's the battery?!' when it's plugged in and there's no apparent damage or puffyness other than some bunged up insulation. It's a scavenged battery so its history is unknown. It was hoped to use it in a club members e-Twister.

I'm new to electric systems (RC). What causes a LiPo battery to be so lifeless? I thought I'd find broken wiring and took it apart to run continuity tests. Everything checked out as OK.

Ara

Offline Ara Dedekian

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
  • Ara Dedekian
Re: What's wrong with this battery?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2021, 08:29:32 AM »

Motorman

Thanks so much! Watched the video, I'll try boosting the voltage tonight and let you know the results..

Ara

Offline Fred Underwood

• Captain
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2021, 11:53:22 AM »
The video gives specific conditions to be met and that is difficult to know on an unknown battery.

Look at the balance plug and notice the brown area, likely overheated or shorted.  Was the top already messed with, or was that you?

Use a volt meter across the plug and check each cell voltage.  If I understand the video correctly, then the cells should be even and lower than a lipo charger will recognize, at least in lipo mode.

Don't be eager to hook it up to a charge unless you are convinced that it meets the video criteria.  Even if it does meet criteria, don't be eager to hook up a battery with an open top.
Fred

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2021, 12:13:43 PM »