News:

• June 05, 2024, 08:19:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Static vs in-flight current draw  (Read 699 times)

Offline john vlna

• 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Static vs in-flight current draw
« on: June 27, 2010, 07:58:37 PM »
I am new to Electric CL. I have converted 4 glow planes to electric and they all have worked, but I am trying to figure out what the difference is between the current draw I measure on the ground (static) vs. in-flight current draw. I purchased Motocalc to help me get started, and frequently it shows a big difference in static and in-flight. The motor results from Motocalc are in the attached example for an Alpha 480. Motocalc predicts that Static is 21A and in-flight only 12.6A.  My static current was 17.8 with a MA 9X7 prop, measured with an Astro wattmeter. Motocalc's diffference between static and in-flight seems very large, and the RC guys tell me that the real difference shouldn’t be that great. Without a flight recorder I can’t say for sure. Anybody ever looked at this issue?

Online Crist Rigotti

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Electric - The future of Old Time Stunt
Re: Static vs in-flight current draw
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 10:51:16 AM »
I usually figure that the static current draw is about 20% higher than flying.  Your mileage may vary.  The calc programs might be using the motor at full throttle while the C/L stunt group usually try to keep the motor at about 75 to 80%.
Crist
AMA 482497
Waxahachie, TX
Electric - The Future of Old Time Stunt

Offline Dean Pappas

• Admiral
  • Welcome to the Stunt Hanger.
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 11:17:15 AM »
Hello John,