News:

• May 06, 2024, 12:04:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Battery Connectors- what's your favorite?  (Read 12068 times)

Offline Target

• C/L Addict
  • 2019 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Battery Connectors- what's your favorite?
« on: May 18, 2015, 11:12:42 PM »
All-
I'm putting together my first e power control line plane. I have some electric experience with RC, none with CL though.
I know that Dean's are the standard, but they seem hard to pull apart sometimes to me.
I'm wondering if someone has recommendations for something that doesn't inspire swearing when changing a pack?
Maybe  XT60's might be better and adequate?
In my early RC days, I was find of Anderson Power Pole connectors, but they take up a lot of space it seems.
Thoughts?
Thanks!
Regards,
Chris
AMA 5956

Offline John Cralley

• Admiral
Re: Battery Connectors- what's your favorite?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2015, 07:02:52 AM »
I have been using XT 60 connectors for several years and am slowly converting most of my ESCs from Deans to XT 60 connectors. In the meantime I have made some adaptors by soldering Deans male to XT 60 female and visa versa (covered with shrink tubing. I find that l can adjust the fit of the XT 60 for easier removal by pinching the male prongs (ouch) with needle nose pliers! Probably defeats some of the low resistance connection  but I have not noticed (or tested for) any difference and they are much easier to connect/disconnect.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 02:07:30 PM by John Cralley »
John Cralley
Scratch Built - Often Re-kitted!!!
AMA 52183
Central Illinois

Offline Target

• C/L Addict
  • 2019 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2015, 09:52:18 AM »
Thanks for the real world experience, John, that is just what I am looking for.