News:

• March 28, 2024, 08:44:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Spreadsheet Design?  (Read 1615 times)

Offline RogerGreene

• 21 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Spreadsheet Design?
« on: August 27, 2021, 06:11:31 PM »
Hi All,

As in my previous thread entries, I am new to electric power and have had several people on Stunthanger give me great information on converting my IC planes to electric. However, with so many options of motors, sizes of batteries including mah volts amps, and ESC, timers and prop sizes to then apply to the size of the airplane's wing area and time in the air it has a learning curve.

To help lessen the learning curve could someone with spreadsheet experience plug in the necessary info mentioned above, and if I have left something out please insert it, and come up with the variables that someone could input their info in, like the size of their airplane wing area, and be able to start flying the first time without too much trouble and then fine-tune their equipment?

I hope that this spreadsheet idea is possible so that those interested in electric power stunt would be able to get flying faster with reliable electrical power.

Thanks very much.

Roger

Fly Stunt <><
AMA 435R
USAF Veteran 1962-66 SAC
Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% of how you react to it. FAA #FA3RFLPAN7

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Spreadsheet Design?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2021, 07:48:31 PM »
Stunt ships are all pretty much the same configuration, so the easiest thing to do is weigh it, then find a similar-weight ship on the "List your setup" thread that's pinned here, and shamelessly copy.

Some things to note:

• Motors come in fairly standard sizes, one 3228 is pretty much the same size as another (but quality will vary, sometimes a lot)
  • You want to match the KV of the system you're copying