News:

• April 30, 2024, 10:56:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Question on Prop Pitch Speed vs Plane airspeed  (Read 868 times)

Offline Jim Moffatt

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Question on Prop Pitch Speed vs Plane airspeed
« on: August 23, 2009, 04:51:38 PM »
 ??? I am trying to set up an old 0.15 Flying Clown to fly on 50' lines.  Looking at the posts in the sucessful setups topic I can see that for the two detailed setups given, the plane flies only several mph slower than the pitch speed of the prop. Alan's setup calculates out to governor pitch speed of 55 mph with a plane speed of 52 mph.
Dennis's setup has pitch speed aboput 52 mph or so and 51 mph air speed.  I have no experience in this at all but I would expect at least a 10% difference. Since the governor is used is it possible that the governor has some sort of "elasticity" to the goverened speed.  Can someone explain what is going on?
Thanks
Jim

Alan Hahn

Re: Question on Prop Pitch Speed vs Plane airspeed
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2009, 05:18:12 PM »
My guess is that the "true" pitch isn't what we typically measure, or what is on the prop.

When you use a pitch gauge, the underside of a prop is touched by a straight edge. That means the straight edge touches two points on the sometimes complicated underside profile. Of course why should you expect this "pitch" to be related to the speed that a plane may fly. Air isn't a piece of wood that a screw turns through.

Ok now that I set you up, imagine a different test. Mount the prop on a motor and measure how much thrust it makes at different airspeeds. If I had access to a wind tunnel I could try this. I also occasionally think about attaching a long boom on my car (where the prop sits out way forward of the front of the car, and run down the road at various speeds (calm air only!), measuring the thrust as a function of speed and rpm.