News:

• May 01, 2024, 05:51:55 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: R/C Throttle Control Question  (Read 1373 times)

Offline Flying Knight

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
R/C Throttle Control Question
« on: October 19, 2015, 06:06:49 AM »
I apologize for such a simple question, but I'm a newbie to C/L throttle control.   I am building a 59 Ares C/L model converted to electric power.  The model is almost done and I am considering installing R/C throttle control.  I want to install a R/C receiver and use the throttle control channel through my Spekrum 6i receiver.  This seems like a fairly simple install, but I'm curious about how this actually works.  Do I hang the receiver from my belt, lay it on the ground when I'm flying or is there a better solution?  Thanks!

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: R/C Throttle Control Question
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2015, 10:24:48 AM »
If you hang the receiver from your belt you'll need an awfully long extension cable to plane.

Would you like a less smart-ass answer, since I know that you mean you're going to use your Spektrum 6i transmitter, with a suitable receiver in the plane?

Most people who do this (and they mostly do it for scale) hang their transmitter on their belt.  Personally, I've done this for 1/2-A sized planes using a cheapo RC car radio from Hobby King.  The transmitter is a hand-grip unit, and I've just held it in my left hand.

Note that if you're planning on competing in stunt, active throttle control is not allowed -- you can use RC to shut down the plane at the end of the flight, but you may not use it to control the throttle during the flight.  So for competition you'd need a timer.  If you just want to sport fly, or if you're a retread and you want to get back into the swing in stages, then go for it!
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.