News:

• March 28, 2024, 08:02:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Pat King's E- Ringmaster Gyro. Build Report  (Read 8268 times)

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Pat King's E- Ringmaster Gyro. Build Report
« on: January 25, 2021, 03:48:49 PM »
I just ordered Pat King's  E- Ringmaster Gyro.  In an earlier post Pat wrote:

"I can do the Ringmaster Gyro as an electric airplane. I would design for the same power system as the Ringmaster Trainer III electric. That is an RSM25SYS using an RSM KDA A30-12M motor."

I have an electric S-1 Ringmaster.  I plan to use the electric setup from this airplane.  When the kit comes in I will take lots of pictures and do a build report and then a flight report.  I am not sure why I would want to build one of these.  But it's time to build something that serves no purpose except to have some FUN!   #^    #^    #^

Say tuned. I will keep you posted.
John Rist
AMA 56277

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Pat King's E- Ringmaster Gyro. Build Report
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2021, 03:47:49 PM »
Just had a conversion with Pat Kin.  I should get my E- Ringmaster Gyro kit next week.  We had a discussion on correct CG for a Gyro. It needs to forward of the rotor blade mounting point.  When I get the bird flying I will play with the CG to find the location that will provide stable flight and allow a loop.  I think I will start with 58' to 60' lines.  The Cobra motor I plan to use, a C-2221-12 will swing an APC 9x6 EP at 9,500 RPMs on a 3 cell LiPo pack.  I think this should be plenty of power for this aircraft.  Attached is a set of the planes.  Of note is the way the motor is mounted.  It is a rear mount setup with the rear shaft support by a ball bearing.  Attached is a set of Pat Kings drawings.
John Rist
AMA 56277

Offline Crist Rigotti

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Electric - The future of Old Time Stunt
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2021, 08:38:03 PM »