News:

• May 20, 2024, 05:09:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Motor choice for larger models?  (Read 2644 times)

Online Mike Scholtes

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Motor choice for larger models?
« on: September 10, 2009, 05:40:05 PM »
What would be an appropriate motor for models in the 680 inch range with a target weight around 65 ounces? I have an unbuilt Score with all the covering stripped that is an easy electric conversion (already has RC type firewall mount) and an unbuilt Brodak Legacy kit. I am new to this and not sure how to size the motor to fit the model and the battery. (I am figuring on at least a TP V2 3900 mah 4-cell 20C-40C 14.8 battery.) There must be published guidelines on this subject but not sure where to look.

Offline Wynn Robins

• Admiral
Re: Motor choice for larger models?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 06:25:49 PM »
Mike - check the "post your setup" thread at the top here - lots of info there
In the battle of airplane versus ground, the ground is yet to lose

Alan Hahn

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 06:39:10 PM »
also check the "e-Strega flies" thread.

Online Larry Wong

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2009, 07:05:07 PM »
Mike anything that big I would think about a Plettenberg 30-12 with a TP pro Lite V2 4350 mAh 5s 18.5v and C/C Phoenix-60 with FMA CL timer from Kaz.
Larry

Believing is the Beginning to greatness <><

Offline Archie Adamisin

• Commander
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2009, 07:28:32 PM »
Mike,

Set-up #1 (plenty of power)
Turnigy SK 42-50-650
Turnigy 25C 5S 3300 cells
Phoenix ICE 50 ESC
Will Hublin FM-2 Timer
13 x 4 or 13 x 6.5 APC "E" prop

Set-up #2 (higher power)
Turnigy SK 42-50-650
Turnigy 22C 6S 3000 Li-Poly
Phoenix ICE 50 ESC
Will Hublin FM-2 Timer
13 x 4 APC "E" prop