News:

• April 18, 2024, 12:09:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Lipo pack weekly storage state of charge  (Read 514 times)

Offline Dennis Toth

• 2020 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Lipo pack weekly storage state of charge
« on: July 28, 2019, 06:55:55 AM »
Guys,
I have been flying electric for five or six years with various size lipo packs. One thing I experienced has been puffing of the pack. I researched this and found that my practice of fully charging me packs after I return home from flying and letting them stay in that state of charge over the week or more was the main cause of the problem. I am a bit lazy so once I found this out now I just leave them uncharged at whatever the pack is at after a flying session (maybe 20%). Since I also fly several OTS ship that are IC powered sometimes the packs will sit for several weeks without being used. So far the packs (Zippy Compact) have held up well without any puffing.

Quesion for the group - is this a reasonable practice for reasonable pack life (particularly for Thunder Power's)?

Best,   DennisT

Offline Jim Mynes

• Commander
  • Chelsea, ME
Re: Lipo pack weekly storage state of charge
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2019, 08:22:41 AM »
The general consensus is that LiPo batteries should be at roughly 50% state of charge for storage. That’s 3.85 volts per cell.
Most quality chargers have a “Storage” option which will charge or discharge the pack to something near 3.85v/cell. The first charger I owned did not have that feature, and I ruined some batteries before I smartened up.
Leaving your batteries at 20% for storage is way better than 100%.
I have seen the light, and it’s powered by a lipo.

Offline William DeMauro

• 21 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2019, 09:09:29 AM »