News:

• May 13, 2024, 01:47:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Where to start?  (Read 1009 times)

Offline david beazley

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Where to start?
« on: November 25, 2010, 07:28:41 AM »
I am starting a Brodak P-51B profile (470sq/in rated for .28-.40 glow) and contemplating going electric.  I have some experience with RC electric and have soem NIB components.  I have an AXI 2826-8 motor and a Castle ICE 50 ESC.  I also have FMA 4-S charger.  I will need a 4-S battery and timer.  The questions I have is the motor to "hot" for CL stunt?  Will the controller handle it for CL?  What would be a good recomendation for a charger?  What size battery?  4S-3000MaH a good place to start?
Am I on the right track or just get a glow engine?
Thanks in advance.
Dave B.
It's only paranoia if they aren't really after you.
Analog man trapped in a digital world
AMA # 2817

Offline Wynn Robins

• Admiral
Re: Where to start?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 12:00:24 PM »
Hi David,

The motor you have may be a little big for the P51 Profile - only for the reason that you dont need one that big for the size plane you are building - you could almost get away with a 2820 if you built light.

With the 2826/8 you could get away with a 3S pack and still have enough RPM to get you going (given that the KV on the Axi is 1130 - max RPM 11.1 X 1130 = 12543 - and you will only need between 8000 - 95000 rpm to fly the Mustang. ( I might get flamed for this comment)

the capacity required generally relates to how heavy your plane ends up being - typically packs between 3000 and 4000mAh are sufficient.

I use the Zippy Flightmax packs from Hobby King - they are cheap and relatively good quality - the charger I use is also from Hobby King - Turnigy Accucell 8 - which is a great little charger - for under $70.

In the battle of airplane versus ground, the ground is yet to lose

Offline William DeMauro

• 21 supporter
  • Captain