News:

• March 28, 2024, 09:57:09 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Glow to Electric Conversion  (Read 2342 times)

Offline Don Jenkins

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Glow to Electric Conversion
« on: November 10, 2021, 07:00:46 AM »
I have decided to convert my Dreadnought to electric, I'm just done with IC engines.  I'm thinking the best way to mount the motor is a rear mount configuration (my other 3 electric planes are front mount) so I have no experience with this set up.  Any insight, especially photos would be greatly appreciated, if there is already a thread on this topic, I apologize for any duplication, but reference to that thread would also be appreciated.

Don

Offline Dennis Toth

• 2020 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Glow to Electric Conversion
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2021, 09:12:45 AM »
Converting is a matter of getting the balance correct as you install components. One thing you can do is remove the maple mounts and install a good firewall 3/16" to mount the motor off of (use gussets to reinforce and small wood screws through the fuse plywood sides). I like front mounts but the rear mount might be easier for the conversion. I would leave a little extra space (like 1/16") between the spinner and cowl ring to allow some movement.

Best,   DennisT

Offline Dennis Toth

• 2020 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2021, 09:35:31 AM »
A flying buddy of mine had this happen a couple times. I added the wood screws (4 of them) through the fuse plywood into the motor/firewall mount and never had problems but I would make sure the prop is balanced and it runs true when spinning.

Best,   DennisT

Offline Shorts,David

• 21 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2021, 10:13:46 AM »
One advantage of the rear mount electric is it is simple to convert to IC using an rc engine mount, as I'm doing with my oriental.

Offline Ken Culbertson

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral